Seven Indian players missing from latest ODI World Cup squad

Crickdom Default Featured Image

Recently, the BCCI announced the final squad of India for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023.

Moreover, India will take on Australia in their opening game at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium on the 8th of October.

Additionally, this is the first time in the history of the tournament that India is hosting the event all alone.

That’s why they are being touted as heavy favorites to win the title this time and end their trophy drought once and for all.

But, this time around, the squad is completely different from that of the 2019 edition of the World Cup.

Seven players from the previous edition are not going to feature in this year’s ODI World Cup.

Some of these players include Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

When did these seven players last play an ODI for India?

Talking about Dhawan, he was a core part of India’s 2019 World Cup squad but has not played an ODI since December last year.

Meanwhile, Vijay Shankar’s last ODI came in the 2019 World Cup itself and he was a surprise package for India in the last edition.

On the other hand, MS Dhoni retired from international cricket on 15th August 2020 and only plays in the IPL for Chennai Super Kings.

Kedar Jadhav is also inactive in India’s international circuit and his last ODI was against New Zealand in February 2020.

Moreover, Dinesh Karthik played his last ODI for India in the semi-final of the 2019 World Cup against New Zealand. Nowadays, he is busy with commentary and playing domestic tournaments.

However, Yuzvendra Chahal being an active member of the Indian squad did not find a place in the final 15.

And finally, Bhuvneshwar Kumar also did not get a mention in the final 15 of the ODI World Cup squad. Bhuvi’s last ODI for India was in January 2022 and since then he has been neglected by the selectors.

India’s 15-man squad for the ODI World Cup

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

Recent Posts by Vidushi Malhotra

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top