Nepal all set to embark on their Asian Games journey

Crickdom Default Featured Image

After having played its first-ever Asia Cup, Nepal is all set to feature in another tournament which is the Asian Games.

Already the sport of cricket has seen great heights in Nepal with a good fanbase for the players. Qualifying for the Asia Cup was one of Nepal’s biggest wins this year.

In the cricket event of the Asian Games, Nepal will kick off its campaign against Mongolia.

It is going to be an 18-team tournament wherein different teams will be competing to win medals.

After Mongolia, Nepal will face off against the Maldives on the 1st of October.

Nepal makes changes to their squad from the Asia Cup

Meanwhile, the team for the Asian Games has also been announced by the Cricket Association of Nepal.

It is a 15-member squad that is going to be led by Rohit Paudel and is currently at full strength.

Additionally, the squad also features seasoned leg-spinner, Sandeep Lamichhanne who is currently out on bail following an alleged sexual harassment case.

Moreover, players who are not going to feature in the Asian Games for Nepal are Bhim Sharki, Kishore Mahato, Arjun Saud, Aarif Sheikh, and Mousom Dhakal.

Furthermore, players added to the squad are Bibek Yadav, Abinash Bohara, and Binod Bhandari. Bhandari is going to serve as a backup wicketkeeping option for Aasif Sheikh.

Players at the top of the order for Nepal will be Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif, and Rohit. Meanwhile, Lamichhane and Lalit Rajbanshi will handle the spin department.

Dipendra Singh Airee and Kushal Malla have been added as part-time spin options in the squad. Moreover, Karan KC and Sompal Kami will be in charge of the pace attack alongside Gulshan Jha, Abinash Bohara, and Bibek Yadav.

Pratis GC has played only 3 ODIs so far for Nepal and may receive his maiden T20I cap for this event.

Nepal’s squad for the Asian Games 2023

Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh (wk), Kushal Bhurtel, Dipendra Singh Airee, Kushal Malla, Binod Bhandari, Sandeep Lamichhane, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Gulshan Jha, Abinash Bohara, Bibek Yadav, Pratis GC, Lalit Rajbanshi, Sundeep Jora

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top