ODI WORLD CUP

KL Rahul comes and goes off the ground as umpire declares Iyer not out

Crickdom Default Featured Image

KL Rahul comes and goes off the ground as the umpire declares Iyer not out. Shreyas Iyer was about to get dismissed by Sean Abbott in the form of caught and bowled.

KL RAHUL COMES AND GOES

Shreyas Iyer, the century achiever of the ODI match, was on his way to the pavilion when the Australian bowler Sean Abbot caught and bowled him. However, little did he know that Sean Abbott’s catch wasn’t clean, and the umpire declared Shreyas Iyer not out. Before, KL Rahul, who walked into bat, had to return to the pavilion due to the reversal in the decision. Shean Abbott’s catch looked clean, but the third umpire, KN Ananthapadmanabhan, decision to recheck it reversed the decision.

The bowler dived in to catch the ball, and he managed to hold the ball with both his hands. In the end, he was carrying the ball with his right hand, and the umpire’s concern was if the ball had touched the ground. In the review acted by the third umpire, it was clear that the catch wasn’t clean. After several replays, the umpire’s final decision was to declare Shreyas Iyer not out. As a result, the decision pending board flashed “NOT OUT” on the big screen. Shreyas Iyer had to return to the crease, and captain KL Rahul had to return to the dressing room without facing a ball and sharing a chuckle with Shreyas Iyer.

However, KL Rahul had to again come to the ground as Shreyas Iyer was dismissed. In the same over, Shreyas Iyer tried to hit the ball and fell short. Matthew Short was the one to catch the ball gliding forward. That’s how Shreyas Iyer’s brilliant knock came to an end. Moreover, Shubman Gill also delivered splendid knock against Australia.

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on TwitterFacebookInstagramLinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top