Under-23 players score spots in ILT20 season 2 for the six franchises

Crickdom Default Featured Image

As the ILT20 warms up for its second season, the six franchises have selected their players for the new season.

Through an online player selection process, the six franchises picked two or three players in their squads and completed their squads today.

A total of 13 players were picked from the ILT20 Development Tournament who are mostly in the Under-23 group.

Meanwhile, a total of 11 players were retained by the six franchises of the ILT20. The tournament requires that all the franchises must have a minimum of four UAE players.

All teams pick different players for their squads for the second season of ILT20

Meanwhile, the next season of the ILT20 is going to be held in January-February next year and all teams are gearing up to win the tournament.

Talking about Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, they have picked the likes of Alishan Sharafu and Aditya Shetty.

Meanwhile, Sharafu scored 202 runs in the Development Tournament and Shetty took eight wickets in the same.

On the other hand, Desert Vipers chose to go with Karthik Meiyappan and Aryan Lakra for the second season.

Furthermore, Meiyappan got two wickets in the Development Tournament while Lakra scored 100 runs in the same.

Next, Dubai Capitals sought the services of Rahul Chopra, Haider Ali, and Vrittya Aravind. They are the only franchise to opt for three players.

Moreover, Aravind was a part of the MI Emirates in the first season of the ILT20 while Chopra scored 269 runs in the recent tournament. Also, Haider was the talked-about bowler as he claimed 15 wickets.

Meanwhile, defending champions Gulf Giants decided to opt for Usman Khan and Mohammad Zohaib Zubair.

While Zohaib scalped 8 wickets, Usman scored 204 runs in the Development Tournament.

Meanwhile, MI Emirates have got the likes of Asif Khan and Mohammad Rohid Khan. Asif was the top-scorer in the tournament, scoring 383 runs in seven games. Rohid took 4 wickets in the tournament.

Finally, Sharjah Warriors opted to go with Basil Hameed and Nilansh Keswani. Basil scored 72 runs while Keswani took 10 wickets.

Moreover, all of these players now join the 11 retained players who were kept back by the franchises in August.

The list is as follows:

Ali Naseer (Desert Vipers)

Aayan Afzal Khan (Gulf Giants)

Junaid Siddique (Sharjah Warriors)

Matiullah (Abu Dhabi Knight Riders)

Mohammad Waseem (MI Emirates)

Muhammad Jawadullah (Sharjah Warriors)

Raja Akif (Dubai Capitals)

Rohan Mustafa (Desert Vipers)

Sabir Ali (Abu Dhabi Knight Riders)

Sanchit Sharma (Gulf Giants)

Zahoor Khan (MI Emirates)

Meanwhile, all six franchises still have time to replace players before the lead-up to the tournament.

New sign-ups for ILT20 2024:

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders: Alishan Sharafu and Aditya Shetty

Desert Vipers: Karthik Meiyappan and Aryan Lakra

Dubai Capitals: Rahul Chopra, Haider Ali, and Vriitya Aravind

Gulf Giants: Usman Khan and Mohammad Zohaib Zubair

MI Emirates: Asif Khan and Mohammad Rohid Khan

Sharjah Warriors: Basil Hameed and Nilansh Keswani

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

Recent Posts by Vidushi Malhotra

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top