Rohit Sharma no more the captain of MI, Hardik replaces him

Crickdom Default Featured Image

The Mumbai Indians have announced Hardik Pandya as their new captain, replacing Rohit Sharma. MI won five titles under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.


The Mumbai Indians, on December 15, announced that all-rounder Hardik Pandya will take over as a captain of the team. For the IPL 2024, Hardik Pandya will lead the MI franchise, replacing Rohit Sharma. Less than a month has passed since Mumbai welcomed Hardik back to the franchise. Earlier, for the previous two seasons of the IPL (2022 and 2023), Hardik was the captain of Gujarat Titans. Moreover, under Pandya’s captaincy, GT won the title in the IPL 2022 and was runner-up in the 2023 season.

Pandya takes over Rohit Sharma, who captained MI in five IPL-winning titles. However, Rohit Sharma is still a part of the MI franchise. Under the captaincy of Rohit, Mumbai Indians winning tags ties with MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings for most victories in the IPL. Moreover, Rohit Sharma ties with MS Dhoni for the most title wins as a captain in the history of IPL. Rohit Sharma guided the team 163 times during the IPL and Champions League T20. Under his captaincy, MI won 91 games, lost 68, and four matches had no results. MI global head of performance Mahela Jayawardene said in a statement that,

“It is part of legacy building and staying true to the MI philosophy of being future-ready. Mumbai Indians have always been blessed with exceptional leadership right from Sachin [Tendulkar] to Harbhajan [Singh] and Ricky [Ponting] to Rohit, who while contributing to the immediate success have always had an eye on strengthening the team for the future. It is in keeping with this philosophy that Hardik Pandya will assume captaincy of Mumbai Indians for the IPL 2024 season.”

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on TwitterFacebookInstagramLinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top