ICC to introduce new format in 2027; a look at the 2019 World Cup

Crickdom Default Featured Image

This year’s ICC Men’s ODI World Cup is going to be played in the same format as that of the 2019 World Cup.

This time, all 10 teams will be facing each other, and no groups are going to be formed this time around.

Therefore, fans can expect a thrilling 45 games that eventually decide upon the four semi-finalists.

Talking about 2019, the event started off between England and South Africa at The Oval, the home side won.

All teams played nine games, the Group Stage lasting six weeks, and it experienced ebbs and flows as new contenders emerged every day.

Additionally, a slow start in the tournament didn’t prove to be a fatal decision to a team’s chances of qualifying.

Talking about 2019, Pakistan had a slow start after winning just one of their opening five games which was a 14-run win over England at Trent Bridge.

However, Pakistan then went on to win four consecutive victories and were just an inch away from securing a qualification spot.

But, they missed out on the crucial juncture because of their low net run rate. Meanwhile, England and New Zealand jumped ahead to qualify as the semi-finalists.

On the other hand, Australia was the first team to secure a semi-final spot after brilliant performances.

India lost out to New Zealand in the semi-final

Meanwhile, India secured their semi-final spot after defeating Bangladesh and winning seven games from nine.

But, the World Cup is all about being a good timer and a fast starter and it was eventually England and New Zealand who trumped everyone to come out as the finalists.

In the India vs New Zealand semi-final at Old Trafford, rain played havoc as the game lasted two days.

However, India being in cruise control, suddenly found themselves in the losing spot as Martin Guptill ran out MS Dhoni.

The next semi-final between England and Australia was even more exciting as England trumped Australia by eight wickets.

It was also England’s first-ever appearance in the final of an ODI World Cup after 1992. It meant that the final will crown a new champion just like Sri Lanka in 1996.

England and New Zealand play a thrilling final in the 2019 ODI World Cup

After trouncing their opponents, England and New Zealand found themselves in the final of the 2019 ODI World Cup.

It was a battle of nerves as the game was tied and went into a Super Over. Even the Super Over was tied in the end between the two sides.

England were crowned the eventual champions on the basis of boundaries scored and showed just how to manage the format.

So, will England be able to win their second title once again, or will it be another team?

Follow Crickdom on Twitter for more.

Recent Posts by Vidushi Malhotra

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top