During the Pak-Sl match, the boundary rope was found to be misplaced

Pakistan

In Pakistan-Sri Lanka match at Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on October 10, a crucial moment blurred the line between the rules and human error. Kusal Mendis launched Hasan Ali’s delivery high into the sky as Imam ul Haq awaited at the deep midwicket boundary and completed the catch. However, replays revel that the boundary rope moved slightly back from its original position. If it had been in its proper place, Mendis’ shot would have been a six instead of a catch. 

Kusal played a breathtaking innings

Mendis stormed to his century in just 65 balls, unleashing his wrath on the Pakistani pacers. Pakistani seamers fled after seeing Mendis’ assault as he brutally beat them throughout the park.

He face Hasan Ali in the 29th over before being remove, displaying his wide range of strokes. The Pakistani seamer was first struck by Mendis for a maximum over long on. And then off the very next ball, he was clobber over deep extra cover and the outcome was the same. Even Hasan Ali was astound by Mendis’ spectacular shots, as evidenced by his response after taking consecutive sixes.

Shaheen Afridi was also bowling his second ball during the 37th over of the game. Dhananjaya de Silva, who was in his path, took the chance to fire a half-volley over the expansive long-off region.

The odd positioning of the boundary line, which was shifted back from its true position, caused this boundary shot. Just short of what would have been a clean six had the rope been in its original location. The ball fell dangerously close to the padding. The commentators immediately called attention to the irregularity, pointing out the mistake.

What does MCC law say about where the boundary rope should be placed?

The phrase “The object shall be returned to its original position as soon as is practicable,” which in a game means “as soon as the ball is dead,” appears in clause 19.3.2.
In such cases, the likelihood of conflict loomed great. Players, spectators, and officials may have been debating whether a big shot that over the white line but land inside the bounds of the boundary cushion was a four or a six. When this occurs, Clause 19.3.1 would have come into play, which states that “the boundary shall be considered to be in its original position” if it is disturbed for any reason.

Recent Posts by Souvik Samanta

  • PAK vs. SL: Kusal Mendis’ assault left Hasan Ali speechless
  • Manjrekar on Gill’s absence: “Worst possible time to miss matches”
  • Virat Kohli’s trademark straight drive electrifies Chennai
  • everyone is surprised by KL Rahul s mind-blowing six against Cummins
  • After victory, Jadeja said, “Steve Smith’s wicket was the turning point.”

For more cricket updates, make sure to follow us on:



To Top